Login Language: EN FR DE EN FR DE Contact

Simon Payne

Main Details

Full name Simon Payne
Country United Kingdom
Primary language English
Specialist areas

As a London-based sports journalist and sub-editor I am experienced in reporting from competition venues as well as producing player profile, business and preview/review features on sports ranging from football, golf, rugby, cricket and athletics. Previous employers have included newspapers, consumer/b2b magazines and websites and I am a rapid learner when it comes to new production techniques. I have also been fortunate to travel on assignments in recent years and am always prepared to report from destinations in the UK or overseas. Travel highlights have included producing features for Golf Monthly magazine and reporting on the 15th Asian Games from Qatar in 2006. Other subject areas I have reported on, away from sport and travel, is broadcasting. I have a number of contacts in the TV industry after working at BSkyB for a number of years and I keep up to date with industry news. I also provide a sub-editing service and have most recently worked on the official programme for the 2009 British & Irish Lions Tour to South Africa, Inside Poker, Property Week, the Municipal Journal, Surveyor Magazine and regional newspapers including the South London Press and Surrey Mirror. As a thorough and precise sub, my knowledge of Quark Express is substantial and I have a working knowledge of InDesign and Photoshop.

Editorial work News writing, Features writing, Sub-editing
Last updated 21-11-2012 17:21

Biography

After working in broadcasting for a number of years I made a career change in 2003 to become a journalist. Since then I have enjoyed successful spells working for newspapers, magazinesa and websites.
From being the news editor for Golf Monthly and Women & Golf magazines to working in the Middle East at the 15th Asian Games, or London for the South London Press, my knowledge of the industry is substantial and I now supply my services as a freelance journalist and sub-editor.
Although I am based on the outskirts of London, I am prepared to work in the South-east of England and travel further afield, including outside of the UK if required.

My Categories